There’s been a common refrain when people talk about this election. I often hear, “Oh, they are both bad.” 

I hold my tongue. There are certainly things that I’d like to say. But, I hold back. 

Even though, I can’t sleep. I’ve lost my appetite. And, I don’t feel up for doing much. 

See, this election is different. In the past, I agreed with one candidate more than the other, and I would vote. This time, though, the stakes are higher. 

For me, this election is more than Democrat versus Republican. It is about one capable candidate versus a racist, sexist bully and his anti-LGBTQ counterpart. 

I almost feel sorry for Republicans. They created this mess, but only a few are standing up for what’s right. Only a few are denouncing Donald Trump for who he is. 

For years, I watched Donald Trump’s idiocy on Celebrity Apprentice, and I, like many others out there, thought it was pretty funny when he announced his candidacy. It was ridiculous pomp and circumstance, with a hearty mix of racism from the get-go. Surely, no one would support this individual. 
I was wrong. 

I should have remembered the Wizard’s First Rule, people are stupid. 

The amount of misinformation in this campaign is astounding. 

Just yesterday, on my birthday, my grandmother, who I had always considered a very intelligent person, told me, “Well, if Hillary’s elected, we’ll have another civil war when she gets rid of the 2nd Amendment.” 

Now, I should have let that go. I should have just ignored it because she voted in Oklahoma, and it is a deep-red state anyway. I couldn’t. I could not let it go. 

“Grandma, she has never said that. That statement is ridiculous. She couldn’t get rid of the 2nd Amendment even if she wanted it. You know that, right?”

Perhaps, my tone was a little scolding and harsh, because her reply of “okay” seemed a bit taken aback.

We go on to briefly skirt around other political issues by talking about the cluster-fuck that is Oklahoma politics. They have the laughable idea of thinking a Ten Commandments monument will be installed at the state capitol. Lawyers are chomping at the bit for that one. Good ol’ Oklahoma, thinking that freedom of religion means Go-Christianity-Go. 

As we continue talking, I bring up about how much misinformation is out there. I don’t bring up that the Russian government has hired tech-savvy individuals to post misinformation online to prop up the GOP nominee. I don’t bring up that there is a Colombian website that poses as an American news site to post false reports. Regardless, she states that she gets emails all the time that she knows are completely bogus. 

And, here’s where I pause, because the first thing she mentioned to me about the election was completely bogus. That’s why I am scared. Because, people are stupid and can no longer differentiate between truth and fiction. 

There is so much false information surrounding both candidates that actual facts get skewed and overlooked. 

But, the lunacy goes beyond misinformation. 

The hypocrisy of the Christian Right has never been more clear. Bible Thumpers far and wide are lining up to support a man who flaunts his infidelity, has avoided donating to charity, rates women’s looks on a 1 to 10 scale, encourages his supporters to check out a sex tape, and was in an adult film as himself. This does not count all of the cruel and hurtful things said about minorities and women. This does not count the time he mocked an individual with a disability during a campaign rally. I guess, a candidate endorsed by the KKK must really represent those important Christian values? Oppression and cruelty? 

I really could go on and on, but it is far too upsetting. For me, a Trump win is saying that it is okay to be cruel. It is okay to be a bully. It is okay to be hateful to your neighbor. It is okay to insult and harass women. 

But, beyond that, I know many in my family support Donald Trump. They love the idea of a wall. And, they see Hillary as the anti-Christ or the devil, which is confusing because, to some of them, I thought me being transgender made me the devil . . . 

Here’s what I want to end with. 

Yes, the Supreme Court issue is huge for me, especially if I want to feel safe in my own home. 

But more than that, if Hillary wins, I feel like America believes I belong. Even if I lose more familial relationships I thought I’d have for a lifetime, if Trump loses, I’ll still be able to feel like I have a home.

I hope that America really considers their vote tomorrow. 

I hope they’ve educated themselves with facts. 

I hope they really consider what kind of America they want for the future. 

But, in the end, I hope for a fair and safe election. 

Vote. 

Be heard. 

Be safe. 

Have hope. 

Leave a Reply

