Today is Valentine’s Day, and a few hours ago we got off the phone, conversing for the first time since Christmas. I miss you all. I truly do. I held off on sending this to you, not because I am ashamed of who I am, but because I do not wish to lose respect for you all. My entire life, I have always watched the two of you do the right thing. Your decisions and actions seemed just and moral. I hope that this time, you will make the right decision, too.

I am going to be fine. Really. But, I am going to fight for equality and my right to exist. I know what you read will be hard to digest. It took me years to finally accept who I am, and if I had not had the courage to face myself, I would not still be here to send you this letter. If you cannot accept me, I will truly miss knowing who I thought you were, but I will be okay. And, I will always love the two of you. Never forget that. You taught me courage. You taught me strength. You taught me to do what is right.

That is what I am doing right now. I have courage. I have strength, and I am doing what is right.

I am sending you all one of my favorite gifts you ever gave me. It is a quote from Steve Jobs’s commencement speech. Because, well, if you cannot accept me for who I am, you could use this quote more than I can.

We can talk about what you’ve read here. Or not. I don’t need to. I know who I am, and no one will change that. Instead, perhaps, if you cannot accept me for who I am, you’ll keep the plaque. If you can, maybe, you’ll send it back. That will be enough to know where you stand.

I am mailing this to my father to give to you. Honestly, with how things have gone between the two of us, I have no idea if you will get the chance to read this.

But, I have hope.

There is always hope.

Leave a Reply

