“Wanted you to know that I have the package you sent your dad. He’s in NY until next week. Not sure if you knew that?”

This was the text message I received from my stepmother yesterday. And, at least, I know that the package made its way there. What happens next is a mystery, but my optimism is not very high.

I did not know my dad was in New York. When I spoke to my grandparents on Valentine’s Day, they mentioned he was heading to the New England area, but I don’t remember if they mentioned D.C. or N.Y., and they didn’t say for how long. What I do remember is that they said, “Well, you already knew that” after saying he was traveling soon.

But, I didn’t know that. I haven’t spoken to him since I sent him a link to my blog post, “To Whom It May Concern,” and in five minutes, he sent back his text: “You’re lost son and i am praying you will find away out of this darkness .”

That was the last message I had gotten from him.

But, it isn’t the last message he has from me.

That message arrived at his home.

And within the large brown packing envelope, rests, folded and printed, a blog post to be given to my grandparents. And on the paper, in poorly legible hand, is an addendum for them to read.

What happens from here scares me. What happens from here will likely hurt. What happens from here does not fill me with hope, especially as the new president continues an attack on everything that made America great.

If America was ever great, I find it harder and harder to continue to believe she still is as Republicans cower as revelations of collusion with Russia are hidden from the light, environmental protections are obliterated by a man in the pocket of the oil and gas industry, a new education secretary fails to stand up to a fascist demagogue in regards to transgender rights and wants to implement a school voucher system that research shows does not work, and the bigot who acts as if he has unlimited power unleashes what he calls a “military operation” to deport families and others trying to build a better life for themselves.

If this is what America has become, she no longer stands for liberty and is no longer the home of the brave. There is nothing beautiful about what is happening now.

But, perhaps, hope remains.

Perhaps, there is a chance.

What will you do with that chance?

Leave a Reply

