After I water my wilting and crispy-looking flowers outside, I looked down at my phone to see a missed call. 

It’s my father. 

He must have called when I was parking my car after getting back from Wonder Woman. The phone call unnoticed when I was unlocking my door and walking into my apartment. 

I stare at my phone. 

No voicemail was left. 

Just a missed call. 

And for minutes, I debate with myself what to do. Do I call him back? Do I let it go? Why was no voicemail left? Did he decide to call, only to change his mind and not leave a voicemail? 

These questions and others race through my mind.

But, I call back. 

I almost instantly regret calling back. 

Because, it rings and rings before he picks up. 

And, it turns out that he called me by accident. 

He hadn’t wanted to talk, only hit a wrong button. 

The five minute conversation made it feel like he was eager to get off the phone. 

But, I do find out one thing. My grandfather has been released from the hospital. He is doing better. 

I sigh. 

I hadn’t even known he was in the hospital. No one had bothered to tell me. I just simply didn’t know. 

This is the inevitable drifting that I have mentioned. 

This is the slow pulling apart. 

And, all I feel is disappointed. 

After I hang up the phone from leaving a voicemail with my grandparents to check on my grandpa, I open Facebook. 

I scroll through my feed and pause when I get to a quote a friend shared. 

“Accept the fact that you will grow apart from people you’ve had significant relationships with. Understand when someone no longer positively affects your life. Let them go. Don’t hinder your growth.” 

It is a Buddhist quote, or at least Facebook claims it is. 

The quote mulls about my mind.

I stare back at my phone, at the missed call that had been mistakenly made. 

And, all I feel is disappointed. 

Leave a Reply

